top of page

Custom Jewelry Art Show Display

So, this has been a whirlwind of a journey which started with an idea, continued to a drink, which lead to 8 more (the point we realized we had the same middle name, although, we then realized we had both forgotten we’d made that realization before) and out came Raewood designs. I wanted to share this custom jewelry display we designed and made for ColeFire Designs. Emilie makes awesome jewelry that she describe as light, airy, and at the same time, rustic. ( which definitely makes me think of fairies stuck in a tree). She asked us to make a display for her to bring to craft fairs that will show off her unique designs and accent her style.

Now, as any good carpenter knows, measure twice, cut once. Well, I am not that person….. There is a large pile of scrap wood at our workshop, one that would probably be a fraction of the size it is now if I had learned that lesson, like ever. With all of that said, I’ve at least learned to draw out what is in my brainplace first. These were the first few drawings… I wont bore you with the rest.

The end result had a few elements of both of those drawings but here are the in betweens… This was our first version. I knew it wasn’t quite right but I couldn’t figure out what about it I didn’t like.

Here is what we ended up with...

I torched the wood first so it would show some contrast once we put the stain on. This photo was taken about a week before we finally got fed up with the garage and cleared it out and built ourselves a bench so try to ignore how messy it is :) We chose a dark espresso stain by Minwax so the copper would contrast nicely. Also, so it would show her jewelry well.

I am happy with the result. I think the wood and copper goes well with her jewelry.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • White YouTube Icon
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page